Signaletics

Branding Expo.02

The branding heralded Expo.02 itself. Windsocks, flags and directional ribbons in the Expo.02 colours were placed at the arrival points in the cities, especially in the railway stations and car parks. Arrows printed on these supports playfully guide visitors to the paths leading to the Artplages. The consistently designed path - Corso - from the railway station to the Arteplage was conceived as a pleasant ten to twenty minute walk.

The entrance areas of the Arteplages in Biel-Bienne, Neuchâtel and Yverdon-les-Bains were designed as large portals. Through them, visitors entered a world that was completely different from everyday life - they were intended to offer a different view of life in a village or town.

A red balloon, visible from afar, marked the meeting point at the heart of Expo.02.

The public spaces represented an architecturally designed dream world that invited visitors to explore.

On site, the ritual of a festive and playful welcome made it possible to slowly and gradually immerse oneself in the Arteplage. This created a peaceful and joyful atmosphere on all the Arteplages. In this magical universe, the public was able to forget their everyday lives for several hours, and this, in retrospect, is probably the best tribute to Expo.02.


Photos: © Intégral Ruedi Baur, Paris, France www.integral-designers.eu; © Christoph Grünig; © Archive Frédérique Mouchet; © Philipp Zanatta; © VBS-DDPS

Signaletik

Branding Expo.02

Das Branding kündigte die Expo.02 selbst an. Windsäcke, Fahnen und richtungsweisende Bänder in den Farben der Expo.02 waren an den Ankunftsstellen der Städte angebracht, vor allem in den Bahnhöfen und auf den Parkplätzen. Auf diese Träger gedruckte Pfeile führen die Besuchenden spielerisch zu den Wegen Richtung Artplages. Der konsequent gestaltete Weg – Corso – vom Bahnhof zur Arteplage war als angenehmer zehn bis zwanzig Minuten langer Spaziergang konzipiert.

Die Eingangsbereiche der Arteplages von Biel-Bienne, Neuchâtel und Yverdon-les-Bains waren als grosse Portale gestaltet. Durch sie betraten die Besuchenden eine Welt, die ganz anders war als der Alltag – sie sollten eine andere Sicht bieten auf das Leben in einem Dorf oder einer Stadt.

Ein von weitem sichtbarer roter Ballon kennzeichnete den Treffpunkt im Herzen der Expo.02.

Die öffentlichen Räume stellten eine architektonisch gestaltete Traumwelt dar, die zum Entdecken einlud.

Vor Ort war es durch das Ritual eines festlichen und spielerischen Empfangs möglich, langsam und schrittweise in die Arteplage einzutauchen. So entstand auf allen Arteplages eine friedliche und fröhliche Atmosphäre. In diesem magischen Universum hat das Publikum seinen Alltag während mehreren Stunden vergessen können, und dies ist, aus der Retrospektive gesehen, wohl die schönste Anerkennung für die Expo.02.

Fotos: © Intégral Ruedi Baur, Paris, Frankreich www.integral-designers.eu; © Christoph Grünig; © Archiv Frédérique Mouchet; © Philipp Zanatta; © VBS-DDPS